Lipscomb's Lauren Flynt Voted ASUN Women's Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Lipscomb's Lauren Flynt Voted ASUN Women's Scholar-Athlete of the Year

2019 ASUN Women's Cross Country All-Academic Team

ATLANTA, Ga. - Lipscomb's Lauren Flynt was voted the 2019 ASUN Conference Women's Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year, highlighting the seven-member All-Academic Team. Flynt becomes the fifth individual from Lipscomb to earn the academic accolade.

The junior boasts a 3.93 cumulative GPA as a Dietetics Major at Lipscomb. Flynt joined three other Bison runners for top-seven finishes at the 2019 ASUN Championship to earn her third career All-Conference spot. Her performance also helped the Bisons capture their record-setting eighth ASUN Women's Cross Country Championship.

The All-Academic Team recognizes student-athletes who excel both on the field and in the classroom. All the members of the team boast a 3.30 cumulative grade point average or better and participated in at least half of their team's events.


Lauren Flynt, Lipscomb (Junior | 3.93 | Dietetics)
Katie Meyer, Kennesaw State (Junior | 4.00 | Environmental Engineering)
Rachel Van Amburgh, Kennesaw State (Junior | 4.00 | Exercise Science)
Brittany Carnathan, Liberty (Sophomore | 4.00 | Biology)
Grace Lahey, Lipscomb (Junior | 3.95 | Pre-Nursing)
Kara Nix, North Alabama (Junior | 4.00 | Industrial Hygiene)
Emma Knight, North Alabama (Senior | 3.93 | General Chemistry/Pre-Professional Dentistry) - #

# - Denotes a two-time selection to the All-Academic Team

The ASUN Conference is an NCAA Division I league with nine member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The ASUN meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement through a true balance between student and athlete. Six ASUN schools reside in Nielsen Top 50 national media markets, and all nine are in top 80 markets. The ASUN includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Liberty University, Lipscomb University, New Jersey Institute of Technology, University of North Alabama, University of North Florida and Stetson University. Bellarmine University in Louisville, Ky., joins the ASUN for the 2020-21 academic year.