Tindell & Buhigas Collect Third Honors; Headline #ASUNWSOC Postseason Awards

Tindell & Buhigas Collect Third Honors; Headline #ASUNWSOC Postseason Awards

Full Postseason Awards | Season Leaders | ASUN Championship Bracket

LakePoint, Ga. -
 This year's ASUN Women's Soccer Postseason Awards were presented to FGCU's Tabby Tindell and Lipscomb's Anna Buhigas for a third-consecutive year. Niamh Rawlins received the ASUN Defensive Player of the Year award, while Olivia Doak garnered the ASUN Freshman of the Year accolade. Lipscomb's Kevin O'Brien was tabbed the ASUN Coach of the Year.

A unanimous selection by the league coaches, Tindell becomes the first student-athlete to claim three ASUN Women's Soccer Player of the Year honors. The decorated senior forward out of FGCU has shattered multiple ASUN records during her career. Hailing from Ocala, Fla. Tindell closed out the regular season with 34 points on 13 goals and eight assists. She ranks first in the league in all three of those categories. Her career accumulation set new conference all-time points (160) and goals (65) records. Tindell ranks second in the NCAA with seven game-winning goals for 2016.

Since establishment of the award in 2012, Buhigas has captured the ASUN Goalkeeper of the Year accolade on three occasions. The Lipscomb senior boasts a GAA of 1.10 with a save percentage of .819 while notching 86 saves on the year. She owns 34 career shutouts, marking a new program record and second all-time in the ASUN.

Rawlins becomes just the second Bisons player to earn the defensive accolade after Katie Shelton won the awards in 2007. The junior from Swindon Wiltshire, England led Lipscomb's backline to six shutouts on the season, three of which coming in ASUN play.

Olivia Doak earned the ASUN Freshman of the Year honor, marking the second consecutive year in which a Lipscomb newcomer has garnered the award. The trailblazing forward started the year off in a dominant fashion, netting three goals in her first two matches against regional rivals Belmont and Vanderbilt. Doak remains among the top-five in the ASUN for goals (7) and points (17).

Kevin O'Brien recieves his first-ever ASUN Coach of the Year award. Under O'Brien, Lipscomb registered two wins over SEC opponents, wrapping up the regular season 11-4-2 overall, and 5-1-1 in the ASUN. O'Brien guided Lipscomb to the No. 2 seed in the upcoming ASUN Women's Soccer Championship.

Alongside four-time selection Tindell, FGCU sees junior defender Ashley Parks, junior midfielder Ali Rogers and senior midfielder Paulina Speckmaier named to the ASUN First Team All-Conference. The four Eagles played a key role in guiding FGCU to a seventh-straight regular season title. FGCU clinched the No. 1 seed after posting a 12-4-1 overall record; 6-0-1 in the ASUN. 

Lipscomb defender Ellen Lundy and midfielder Natalie DuBoise join Buhigas, Doak and Rawlins on the ASUN First Team. Lundy and DuBoise netted six goals apiece for the season, only second behind Doak on the Bisons roster. This year, Lipscomb claims the most players on the first team with five ahead of FGCU with four.

Junior Hatter Sarah Collins documented a sensational regular season, garnering her second First Team All-Conference selection. Collins' efforts helped Stetson collect seven-straight victories, marking its longest streak in program history. Collins ranks second in the ASUN with 11 goals and 28 points this season.

Jacksonville's Joelle d'Entremont earned a spot on the first team, seeing action in all 15 games for the Dolphins. She leads Jacksonville's roster with four goals and three assists. She notched a goal in Jacksonville's regular season finale, lifting the Dolphins to the No. 5 seed to enter the ASUN Championship.

The Quarterfinals of the 2016 ASUN Women's Soccer Championship kick off Saturday, October 29th. No. 3 Stetson will host No. 6 North Florida at 3 PM on ASUN.TV, while No. 5 Jacksonville heads to No. 4 Kennesaw State for a 6 PM match on ASUN.TV.

ASUN First Team All-Conference
GK - Anna Buhigas, Lipscomb
D - Ashley Parks, FGCU
D - Ellen Lundy, Lipscomb
D - Niamh Rawlins, Lipscomb
MF - Ali Rogers, FGCU
MF - Paulina Speckmaier, FGCU 
MF - Natalie DuBoise, Lipscomb
F - Tabby Tindell, FGCU 
F - Joelle d'Entremont, Jacksonville
F - Olivia Doak, Lipscomb
F - Sarah Collins, Stetson 

ASUN Second Team All-Conference
GK - Emily Plotz, Stetson
D - Lindsey Patton, FGCU
D - Brittney Reed, Kennesaw State
D - Abby Roth, Kennesaw State
D - Annette Morton, Stetson
MF - Isabella Contreras, Kennesaw State
MF - Arianna Gerber, NJIT
MF - Alexis Bredeau, North Florida
F - Kim Fincher, Kennesaw State
F - Maycie McKay, Lipscomb
F - Krista Colubiale, North Florida

ASUN All-Freshman Team
*F - Olivia Doak, Lipscomb
*F - Emilie Olsen, FGCU
*MF - Leah Cernicky, Lipscomb
D - Lindsey Patton, FGCU
GK - Melissa, Weck, FGCU
D - Meagan Gruber, Jacksonville
MF - Isabella Contreras, Kennesaw State
MF - Lorena Cedeno, North Florida
MF - Florencia Baldassini, Stetson
MF - Lindsey Parent, Stetson
GK - Emily Plotz