Jacksonville Survives Liberty's Comeback Attempt to Clinch @ASUNWLax Championship

Jacksonville Survives Liberty's Comeback Attempt to Clinch @ASUNWLax Championship

Follow @ASUNWLax

Championship Central | Championship Bracket | Photo Gallery

CONWAY, S.C. - No. 1 seed Jacksonville won its sixth ASUN Conference Women's Lacrosse Championship title on Saturday afternoon as they took down No. 2 Liberty, 20-18 on the campus of Coastal Carolina. With the win, the Dolphins secure their third-straight ASUN Championship and sixth in the last seven seasons.

Jacksonville started off fast, as they went up 8-3 on Liberty midway through the first half. Goals from Alyssa Arnold and Lillie Miller helped pad the lead for JU before taking a commanding 14-6 lead into the locker room. Arnold finished the half with three goals and an assist for four points, while Hayley Ciklin posted an identical stat line. 

The second half was a different story, as Liberty came out on fire. The Flames netted a pair of goals in the first two minutes of the second half to close the gap to 14-8. After the Dolphins responded to make it 17-10, the Flames went on a scoring spree, as they scored seven of the next eight goals to cut the lead to 18-17. The Dolphins were up to the task to respond, as Molly Brock and Jenny Kinsey scored back-to-back goals to make it 20-17 and put the final dagger in the Flames. 

Ciklin finished the game with seven points on five goals and two assists, while Brock scored four goals, dished out two assists and won a staggering 11 draw controls. Brock finished the championship with five goals, two assists, two ground balls and 13 draw controls. Arnold and Kinsey finished the contest with four points apiece. 

Jenna Joyal led the charge for the Flames, as she scored five goals, including three during Liberty's comeback in the second half. First Team All-Conference member Brianna McCaffrey matched Joyal with five goals. Kayla Foster finished with a goal and three assists for the Flames. 

Jacksonville awaits to see its fate in the NCAA Tournament, with the selection show airing on NCAA.com on Sunday, May 5th, at 8 PM ET. The NCAA Women's Lacrosse Tournament First Round is slated to start on May 7th/8th with opening round play-in games. 

ASUN All-Tournament Team
Molly Brock - Jacksonville - MVP
Alyssa Arnold - Jacksonville
Lillie Miller - Jacksonville  
Hayley Ciklin - Jacksonville
Jenny Kinsey - Jacksonville 
Brianna McCaffrey - Liberty
Jenna Joyal - Liberty 
Kayla Foster - Liberty
Siena Gore - Kennesaw State 
Emily Napierala - Kennesaw State 
Haley Alexander - Coastal Carolina
Megan Kilpatrick - Coastal Carolina

ASUN Championship Final Notes 
- Jacksonville wins its sixth ASUN Championship in the last seven season and third consecutive
- Molly Brock becomes the first freshman in the history of the ASUN Championship to garner MVP honors
- Jenny Kinsey finished the ASUN Championship with 14 points, including an ASUN Championship record 10 vs. Kennesaw State
- Liberty sits with a 14-5 mark on the season, which is an all-time program record for wins in a single-season
- The Dolphins earn their sixth bid to the NCAA Tournament. The 2019 Selection Show will be on Sunday night at 8 PM ET and can be streamed on NCAA.com