Ospreys Capture Second #ASUNXC Title; Liberty's Kirwa Wins Runner of the Year

Ospreys Capture Second #ASUNXC Title; Liberty's Kirwa Wins Runner of the Year

Championship Results | Photo Gallery

BRONX, N.Y. - North Florida captured its second ASUN title in three seasons, as the Ospreys won the 40th running of the ASUN Conference Men's Cross Country Championship on Friday afternoon. Liberty's Azaria Kirwa collected his fourth meet victory of the season as his time of 25:03.7 bested the field of 71 runners.

Noah Perkins, Nathan Jurban and Rob Leverone helped pace UNF as the trio finished second, third and fourth respectively. In total, five North Florida student-athletes collected top-10 finishes with Nick Morken crossed the line in sixth ahead of Christian Conder in 10th. Fynn Timm added Second Team All-Conference honors in 13th place.

In its ASUN debut event, Liberty earned second place with five runners in the top-10 with Augostine Lisoreng (5th), Ben Klemmeck (8th), Nick Doan (9th) and Felix Kandie (11th) following Kirwa's top performance. The Flames totaled 34 points to finish nine points behind the Ospreys.

Guided by Silas Griffith (7th) and Zach Israel (12th), Lipscomb earned third place with 75 points, while Stetson grabbed fourth place with two runners in the top-20; Hillary Melly (14th) and Tristen Montalvo (18th). The fourth-place finish for the Hatters was the best-ever for Stetson passing a fifth-place showing in 1986.

FGCU trailed Stetson by two points to grab fifth place led by Jan Figueroa (25th) and Lucas Kiprotich (27th), while the host program, NJIT, followed with 181 points. Gerard Gill and Ryan Budhu posted performances of 30th & 31st, respectively. Kennesaw State, North Alabama and Jacksonville rounded out the field.

ASUN First Team All-Conference
Azaria Kirwa - Liberty - ASUN Runner of the Year
Noah Perkins - North Florida
Nathan Jurban - North Florida
Rob Leverone - North Florida 
Augostine Lisoreng - Liberty
Nick Morken - North Florida
Silas Griffith - Lipscomb

ASUN Second Team All-Conference
Benjamin Klemmeck - Liberty
Nick Doan - Liberty 
Christian Conder - North Florida 
Felix Kandie - Liberty 
Zach Israel - Lipscomb 
Fynn Timm - North Florida 
Hillary Melly - Stetson

All-Freshmen Team
Nathan Jubran, North Florida - ASUN Freshman of the Year
Felix Kandie, Liberty
Tristen Montalvo, Stetson
Timothy Doyle, North Florida
Paul Squires, Liberty