Lipscomb Reclaims #ASUNXC Men's Title Behind Poyner's First-Place Run

Lipscomb Reclaims #ASUNXC Men's Title Behind Poyner's First-Place Run

Championship Results | Photo Gallery


Lipscomb reclaimed the ASUN Men's Cross Country Championship trophy as Jacob Poyner guided the Bisons to their fourth conference crown in the past five years with his first-place performance at the Sam Smith Park course. Poyner finished in 24:02.2, which sits as the second-fastest time in ASUN Championship history behind USC Upstate's Gilbert Kemboi (24:00.84) in 2010.

Six Bisons crossed the finish line in the top-10 of the conference meet with Juan Gonzalez (4th) and Silas Griffith (7th) joining Poyner on the First Team All-Conference. William Kachman (8th), Chase Hampton (9th) and Zach Israel (10th) added Second Team All-Conference honors with their races on Saturday. Poyner's time set the program championship record for fastest by 42 seconds, breaking the mark set by Gonzalez in 2015. Poyner became the first-ever Bisons student-athlete to win the ASUN Men's individual title.

North Florida captured runner-up honors with three runners in the top-six including Nick Morken (24:09.8; 2nd), Tyler Stahl (24:28.9; 3rd) and Noah Perkins (24:42.7; 6th). Morken and Stahl both bested the program's championship record for fastest time; previously set in 2015. Two Ospreys earned Second Team All-Conference recognition as Fynn Timm and Rob Leverone took 11th and 12th place respectively. As a team, North Florida finished with 34 points just five behind Lipscomb.

Kennesaw State, the host team, grabbed third place at the conference meet for their best outing since 2012 when the Owls also finished third. Logan Poteet led KSU with a fifth-place performance in 24:34.9, while freshmen Chase Hampton and Benjamin Patterson contributed top-20 times to land on the All-Freshmen Team. Poteet's time of 24:34.9 broke KSU's championship record previously held by Nabil Hamid (24:41.66; 2010).

USC Upstate secured fourth place for the third-straight year with top runner Dorian Jones collecting 16th place followed by Ereck Lewis in 28th. FGCU followed the Spartans in fifth as Carlin Berryhill earned Second Team All-Conference honors by crossing in 13th place. His time of 25:11.5 breaks FGCU's championship record for fastest time; set by current FGCU assistant coach Argeo Cruz in 2013.

NJIT, Stetson and Jacksonville rounded out the conference meet. The Highlanders' Blake Brancato set program championship records for finish (14th) and time (25:19.4), which he set in 2015.

ASUN First Team All-Conference
Jacob Poyner, Lipscomb - ASUN Runner of the Year
Nick Morken, North Florida
Tyler Stahl, North Florida
Juan Gonzalez, Lipscomb
Logan Poteet, Kennesaw State
Noah Perkins, North Florida
Silas Griffith, Lipscomb

ASUN Second Team All-Conference
William Kachman, Lipscomb
Chase Hampton, Lipscomb
Zach Israel, Lipscomb
Fynn Timm, North Florida
Rob Leverone, North Florida
Carlin Berryhill, FGCU
Blake Brancato, NJIT

ASUN Conference All-Freshman Team
Silas Griffith, Lipscomb - ASUN Freshman of the Year
Chase Kennedy, Kennesaw State
Benjamin Patterson, Kennesaw State
Arye Beck, Stetson
Cole Pruim, FGCU