ASUN Conference Recognizes End of the Year Award Winners in Savannah

ASUN Conference Recognizes End of the Year Award Winners in Savannah

SAVANNAH, Ga. - At the 2018 ASUN Conference Spring Meetings, the league announced a wide range of accomplishments at an awards banquet held on Wednesday night at the Hyatt Regency Savannah.

Decided by the conference Faculty Athletic Representatives, Kennesaw State's Kristi Piedimonte and North Florida's Eden Meyer were announced as the conference's NCAA Woman of the Year nominees. Piedimonte had an incredible senior season as she led KSU to its first-ever NCAA Tournament, earning First Team Academic All-American honors along the way becoming the first student-athlete in KSU history to earn the honors. The ASUN Setter of the Year, Piedimonte also was tabbed the Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year as she registered a perfect 4.0 cumulative GPA as a Nursing major. A seven-time ASUN Scholar-Athlete of the Year in Cross Country and Indoor & Outdoor Track and Field, Meyer has participated in three NCAA Championships during her career while maintaining a 3.99 GPA as a Biology major with a concentration in Biomedical Studies.

Previously announced, Kennesaw State, FGCU and North Florida were honored as the winners of the Bill Bibb, Sherman Day and Jesse C. Fletcher Trophies. The Owls earned the Combined All-Sports Trophy for the first time in program history, while UNF and FGCU collected the men's and women's trophy for the fourth-straight year.

The ASUN's Postgraduate Scholarships were awarded to Lipscomb's Kacey Kemper and Stetson's Loic Blanco. Kemper racked up six total All-Academic Team selections across her career as a Cross Country and Track & Field student-athlete with a 4.0 GPA as a Biology major. In 2017, Kemper won the Most Outstanding Track Performer at the ASUN Outdoor Track & Field Championship. capped her career as a Four-Time All-Conference performer and three-time All-Academic team selection. A two-time All-Academic Team selection by holding a 3.69 GPA as a Finance major, Blanco helped the Hatters to the ASUN Men's Tennis Championship Final in his senior season. With an 18-4 record in singles action, Blanco earned his fourth selection to the First Team All-Conference.

The Male & Female Student-Athletes of the Year accolades were awarded to the same institution for the fifth time in conference history as North Florida's Fynn Timm and Eden Meyer collected the honors. It marks the first time a UNF student-athlete earned either award. Timm sits with a 3.86 cumulative GPA as a Sport Management major, while adding a First Team All-Conference honors in the 3,000-meter Steeplechase and two-time All-Conference in Cross Country.

The ASUN Conference is a NCAA Division I league with eight member institutions committed to Building Winners for Life. The ASUN meets the challenge of maintaining the highest standards in academic and athletic achievement with a true balance between student and athlete. Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the ASUN footprint reaches into seven of the top 50 media markets in the nation. The ASUN includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, New Jersey Institute of Technology, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University. Liberty University and the University of North Alabama will join the league for the 2018-19 season.