ASUN Conference Hands Out End of Year Awards at Spring Meetings

SAVANNAH, Ga. - At the 2017 ASUN Conference Spring Meeting Awards Banquet, the league announced a multitude of awards and honored ASUN Commissioner Ted Gumbart for 25 years worth of service with the conference.

The evening began as Gumbart presented ASUN SAAC NCAA Representative Brittney Reed with a plaque for her three years serving in her role. The former Kennesaw State Women's Soccer student-athlete concluded her tenure this month.

Decided by the conference Faculty Athletic Representatives, NJIT's Alana Dudley and USC Upstate's Ryan Rector were announced as the conference's NCAA Woman of the Year nominees. Dudley concluded her women's basketball career with the Highlanders as the team's leader in scoring and assists, while attending the university Honors College for Mathematical Sciences. Rector, a two-time First Team All-Conference selection in Softball, recently capped her career with a fourth-straight trip to the NCAA Regionals and served as Upstate's SAAC President.

Previously announced, FGCU and North Florida were honored as the winners of the Bill Bibb, Sherman Day and Jesse C. Fletcher Trophies. The Eagles collected the Combined All-Sports Trophy for the third-straight year and women's all-sports award for the fourth time in five years. UNF earned its third-straight Fletcher trophy after capturing three conference men's titles.

The ASUN's Postgraduate Scholarship was awarded to two cross country student-athletes with Lipscomb's Barbara Lee Ball and Stetson's Joe Beery. Ball capped her career as a Four-Time All-Conference performer and three-time All-Academic team selection. She plans on continuing her education at Vanderbilt's Advanced Nursing program. Berry, a three-time ASUN Men's Cross Country Scholar-Athlete of the Year, finished his time at Stetson with a 3.99 cumulative GPA in Philosophy and Russian Studies and plans to attend Law School.

For the second-consecutive year, Kennesaw State's Simon Pritchard was named the ASUN Male Student-Athlete of the Year. Pritchard earned his fourth-straight First Team All-Conference nod in Men's Tennis as he guided his team to a Division I program record for victories. The three-time Men's Tennis Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Pritchard finishes with a 3.97 cumulative GPA as a Finance major.

Jacksonville's Samantha Turner follows fellow Dolphin Track & Field student-athlete Kree Clark in earning the ASUN Female Student-Athlete of the Year. A four-time Track & Field individual champion, Turner finished as the 2017 ASUN Outdoor Most Outstanding Performer with 28 total points at the conference championship. An eight-time All-Academic Team selection, Turner is the first student-athlete in league history to accomplish the feat.

Having started with the conference in 1991, Commissioner Gumbart's 25 years of work with the ASUN was recognized with a commemorative plaque presented by Stetson Director of Athletics Jeff Altier. Associate Commissioners John Roberts and Mike Hagen added comments on Gumbart as he has served as ASUN Commissioner since January 2007.

Headquartered in Macon, Ga., the ASUN footprint reaches into seven of the top 50 media markets in the nation. The ASUN includes a blend of the most prestigious and dynamic private and public institutions in the region: Florida Gulf Coast University, Jacksonville University, Kennesaw State University, Lipscomb University, New Jersey Institute of Technology, University of North Florida, University of South Carolina Upstate and Stetson University. The University of North Alabama will join the league for the 2018-19 season bringing the membership total to nine.

ASUN Social Media

Related Headlines

Back To Top